Sorbet Series 2: Name Change

Recently, I’ve realized that I manage to connect almost every situation in my life to The Great Gatsby. It’s a bit strange.

In this case, however, it’s appropriate. I mentioned before that I’m going to change some names to protect the idiots, and this quote inspired my chosen names:

“They were careless people, Tom and Daisy—they smashed up things and creatures and then retreated back into their money or their vast carelessness, or whatever it was that kept them together, and let other people clean up the mess they had made.”

This is a story of Tom, Daisy, and me. Obviously, you need to be cautious of a first person narrator. We always taught our students not to take everything the narrator said at face values; a narrator has his or her own motivations and feelings. I am no exception.

I also want to address my reasons for writing this series. One of my favorite people cautioned me not to spend too much time spreading negativity, and I completely agree with that sentiment. If you know me, you know that I am an optimist. I tend to look on the bright side of every situation and create positivity in my life.

I have also recently realized, though, that I still have a very childlike sense of the world. I still believe in right and wrong, and though I have in no way done everything perfectly, that sense of justice permeates my life. When I have messed up, I believe that I deserve to be punished, but for some reason, I do not extend those harsh judgments to the people around me.

I don’t really get angry. It’s strange. And I can’t think of the last time I’ve been intentionally cruel to someone. When I do think about it, the only clear and concise example I remember is from third grade. I managed to be one of the “cool kids” at camp one summer, and my friends and I tortured this other girl. When I think about that, I just hope that wherever that girl is, she is the hottest, most confident, most beloved person around. But since that time, intentional cruelty is not something that has entered my life, so when I come into contact with it, I am always a bit shocked.

And I also tend to believe that good people deserve good outcomes and bad people deserve bad outcomes, but perhaps Tom and Daisy aren’t bad, they’re just careless. Unfortunately, I was a victim of that carelessness.

Ultimately, this series is not meant to put me on a pedestal of perfection or condemn others as awful while spreading negativity, it’s about thinking and considering. I like neat endings, and life doesn’t always provide them.

About Heather

I'm a literature-loving adventurer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

