A Day in the Life

I reread this morning’s post, and it’s kind of all over the place (and needs more proofreading!), so I decided to make tonight’s post thematic.

Today is a day in my life here in Altona, Hamburg, Germany. Before we get to the present day, let’s all remember that I saved up some money, and I am on vacation. I wish this were my normal life, but it’s not… I definitely appreciate it though!

Before we get to Heather’s Not-Real-Life, here’s a pic from my former life. My cousin Kate and I went on a Road Trip two Christmases ago, and guess what I got to do throughout the entire trip?

 hwonvacay1

There. Feel better?

and now today!

Guten Morgen!

Altona Day in the Life 001

Are you ready to start the day?

 Altona Day in the Life 005

Put your slippers on!

Altona Day in the Life 002

Get ready for Fruehstueck! Check out the kitchen first. This apartment is 100 years old, and the family has preserved some of the old features like an old-fashioned oven (they have a modern one too) and decorations!

Altona Day in the Life 003

Altona Day in the Life 006

I love German breakfasts! Sunday breakfasts are especially fun—hanging with friends and family, savoring every bite of German bread, but a nice Wednesday-morning breakfast can be perfect, too!

Altona Day in the Life 007

Altona Day in the Life 008 Altona Day in the Life 009

When I’m in Germany, I love to drink Apfelschorle, which is apple juice mixed with sparkling water, but here we have Rhubarb-schorle. So delicious!

Altona Day in the Life 010

Altona Day in the Life 011

Off to school! The walk is about five minutes, only slightly longer than my former commute! There are some beautiful sights along the way.

Altona Day in the Life 012

Altona Day in the Life 013

At school!

Altona Day in the Life 019

Off to the classroom to do a bit of review before class starts!

So much to learn! German has three genders and their articles can change depending on the verb or prepositions used. The best English example I can think of is the preposition “with.” We don’t say “with he,” we say “with him.” In German, it happens more often 😉

Altona Day in the Life 014

Gotta review the my review-sentences. I’m trying to master at least a few new verbs.

Altona Day in the Life 015

Check this out. We’re looking at the verb “lassen.” You can add lots of different syllables to the beginning of the word (vorsilbe) and change its meaning. They’re trick to remember.

Altona Day in the Life 016

We also read a bit of Mark Twain. He learned and poked fun at the German language. There are certain verbs in German that split. We have a few in English. For example, “to pick up” is “abholen.”

I pick my child up. (Or, I pick up my child) would be Ich hole mein Kind ab. See how it splits? Mark Twain poked fun at the fact that Germans can cram all kinds of ideas in between the two parts of the verb. If you can see my underlining, you’ll understand how he splits the verb.

Altona Day in the Life 018

I have three classmates. Natsumi comes from Japan, Christina from Ecuador and Aymen from Tunisia. It’s great to have such a variety of countries represented, and I’m glad to be the only English speaker. Well, the only native English speaker—they all speak English. Everyone is really nice, but it’s funny to be a student again. I know as a kid I was definitely Hermione-like. My hand was in the air, I wanted to answer first, I was competitive. (I pissed lots of people off.) But, after working as a teacher, I can appreciate giving other people time to think and understanding other people’s strengths. Aymen is a bit more aggressive, which is kind of driving me crazy. I want to shake him, “Don’t yell out the answer!” when other people are trying to think… but I’m only here for a week and the others are here much longer, and I think the teacher appreciates his enthusiasm (which, as a teacher, I can understand.)

Here’s Natsumi!

Altona Day in the Life 017

After three blissful hours of German, it’s time to go. It’s also kindergarten pick-up time across the street! Die eltern holen ihre Kinder ab!

Altona Day in the Life 020

and it’s fall!

Altona Day in the Life 021

and I’m hungry! I have to hole myself some lunch ab! 😉 And before anyone judges me, I thought it was a soup place, but it actually was a potato place. (I just saw chili on the sign… I guess you can smother potatoes in chili!)

I had to hold myself back from tearing into this sucker on my way home.

Altona Day in the Life 022

Seriously, someone crawled into my brain and made my dreams come to life. Mashed potatoes covered in sour cream, cheese, corn, and bacon. Sweet merciful goodness! I had to force myself not to eat the entire thing…

Altona Day in the Life 023

cause I wanted to go running! I still had to wait to digest of course, but soon it was time for a run! I have gone running a fair amount on this trip and have yet to bring my camera, so I decided to bring it along this time, so you all can see Altona and Hamburg, too!

Altona Day in the Life 026

Altona Day in the Life 024

I ran across the street and down lots and lots and lots of stairs to the River Elbe!

Altona Day in the Life 025

There were tons of people out getting some sun and enjoying the nice restaurants.

Altona Day in the Life 027

In the olden days, all the ship captains used to live on the river.

Altona Day in the Life 028

Watch out for kids!

Altona Day in the Life 029

Wonderful.

Altona Day in the Life 030

Altona Day in the Life 031

Altona Day in the Life 032

Halfway-ish point!

Altona Day in the Life 034

Stopping at 23:00 ensures at least a 45-minute run with a little cooldown!

Altona Day in the Life 033

Feeling good. It’s perfect running weather!

Altona Day in the Life 037

The path is crowded with pedestrians, so no bikes! (Does my shadow look fat? ;-))

Altona Day in the Life 035

Lots of mommies are out with their babies though.

Altona Day in the Life 036

and there are always old German people out walking. I LOVE that.

Altona Day in the Life 038

the green house means it’s time to go back up the hill!

Altona Day in the Life 039

stab me in the face.

Altona Day in the Life 040

and this is just a sampling of the stairs cause showing all of them would get boring.

Altona Day in the Life 041

Home. Shower. Kaffee und Kuchen und Hausaufgaben (homework) Zeit (time). (OK, I snuck a little Harry in there, too.)

Altona Day in the Life 042

I think I’m at the point in my German-learning that I don’t want to do activities. For this HW, we had to arrange all kinds of school-related words into groups. “Students learn foreign languages systematically from teachers in the school with their school books.” I was running out of possibilities and it just felt kind of dumb.

Altona Day in the Life 043

On the other hand, I’m really enjoying practicing and practicing and practicing grammar. I need to buy a grammar book. This stuff is cool! (If you speak german, pleaaaassse don’t correct my worksheet…)

Altona Day in the Life 044

time for Abendessen!

Altona Day in the Life 046

The host family invited me for pancake night!

Altona Day in the Life 045

Making pancakes is an art! We used apples from their own apple tree. (They have a house in north Germany.)

Apple pancake!

Altona Day in the Life 047

Plum pancake!

Altona Day in the Life 048

Two and a half hours of eating and chatting (in German!!) later… back to HW! I get myself in trouble because I overdo it. I have so much to say, but I end up making lots of mistakes. Oh well…

Altona Day in the Life 049

Then, time to relax. Up to the reading nook.

Altona Day in the Life 051

Altona Day in the Life 004

Altona Day in the Life 050

Gute Nacht!

About Heather

I'm a literature-loving adventurer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

