Breakfast in Munich, Lunch in Prague, Dinner in Helsinki

What a day!

The day began with breakfast in the Munich airport, a gorgeous latte and an apple!Breakfast

Lunch in the Prague airport. (there were some unpictured plane treats as well…it was a munchy day!)

Munich to Prague to Helsinki 002

Munich to Prague to Helsinki 003

Sweet little trip! I love following the airplane on the screen… this time, I followed it with a lump in my throat. In a few days, I will be taking a similar path across Europe—except in a bus!

Munich to Prague to Helsinki 004 

Hooked up in Helsinki! Those of you who know me know that I love to travel. The reason I can afford to travel, in addition to saving my pennies and dressing like a clueless third grader, is that I don’t travel in style. I look for supercheap flights. I stay in hostels. I buy dinner at the grocery store. I do spend money experiencing a place, but I don’t spend money on sleep. I have slept in airports, on trains, on a ferry, and in some scary hostels. (Honestly, most hostels are absolutely beautiful, but I’ve hit a few rejects.) On this trip, I will add sleeping on a bus to my repertoire.

When I started planning this trip, I played around with my route and my dates for so long that by the time I went to find a hostel, they were all booked. Panicking only slightly, I called my mom to see if she had some hotel points she could spare for my trip, and she hooked me up. Thanks mom!!

Munich to Prague to Helsinki 019 Munich to Prague to Helsinki 007 Munich to Prague to Helsinki 006

I will be dreaming about this room from the bus in a few days!

Had a little snack’n’tv break before I set out to explore the city!

Munich to Prague to Helsinki 010 Munich to Prague to Helsinki 016 After enjoying some subtitled Oprah, I set off for a long walk around the city. After a day of plane travel and waiting in airports, I needed to stretch my legs, and I walked around the city for about two and a half hours.

Helsinki is beautiful in twilight, and I saw some lovely sights—including people Nordic-rollerblading!

Munich to Prague to Helsinki 020

Munich to Prague to Helsinki 022

A little 50-cent potty break on the trek. Insert money and the door swings open.

Munich to Prague to Helsinki 024  Munich to Prague to Helsinki 023

I prowled around the city for awhile, purposely getting lost and getting out of the touristy areas. I happened upon a little festival. Ignore the world’s worst picture; I didn’t want to set off my flash and get yelled at in Finnish 😉

Munich to Prague to Helsinki 025 and look at the gorgeous display nearby!

Munich to Prague to Helsinki 027 

and just for laughs…

Munich to Prague to Helsinki 026

The day ended with a grocery store dinner in my swanky hotel room!

Munich to Prague to Helsinki 028 I needed some salad after a day of sandwiches and treats! This salad was perfect: some seafood, peas and lettuce, and a little pasta! Hopefully, I will get to try some more interesting foods tomorrow. I bought that little bread (looks like a mini-pie) because it looked interesting. I had never tried anything like that before, so I assumed it had to be Finnish. The outer ring tasted like pizza crust and the filling was rice and cheese. It almost tasted like rice pudding but a bit more savory. Now, I’m enjoying some free-from-the-minibar sparkling water and OJ because we swanky people in the executive suites get perks!

Good night.

About Heather

I'm a literature-loving adventurer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

